CADA is about the people

Today marks my fifth anniversary of attending the CADA Area A conference.  It seems so long ago that I first even heard about CADA, let alone my area council, who was dedicated to supporting teachers to promote activities that create a positive climate.  As a new attendee to leadership conferences, I had no idea what to expect, who I would meet, or that the people at these events would be my good friends and and become incredible resources five years down the road.

One of the first people who had an impact on me was Ron Jones.  Ron is the kind of guy that if you ask, it will happen.  Take, for example, the first podcast that I ever did.  Ron drove down to my house to record the show where he exhibited one of his ten minute lessons.  That first area camp I attended I purchased one of Ron’s Ten Minute Lesson books, something that I still go to all these years later.  And, I still call Ron to run lesson ideas by him, speaking topics I want to use in class, or just to see how he is doing.

Another person that I met that year was Steve Southard, activities director at Sonora High School.  Steve is an anomaly, an activities director of over thirty years who still enjoys what he is doing.  Steve showed me how activities can be fun, or at least funny at times, with his unique brand of humor as well as his amazing insight into student thought.  Steve has this special ability to connect stories to students’ lives that not many people can do.  At the same time, he is the type of guy who I can call and bounce ideas off of or even ask for ideas that he will email to me in a heartbeat.

These are just two examples of members on the Area A board who offered to help and mentor me as I grew as an activities director.  I can’t say enough about this area conference that set me on my way to becoming a good activities director and educator to my students.  At the same time, it is the friendships with the Area A members who attend the camps, the Area A board, that has fostered in me my talents and abilities to become a better activities director.  Along with my growing involvement in Area A,   I was able to meet people in other areas, which adds even more meaning to my attendance to the State conference in March.  There are so many great people in the CADA organization, and while this group has so much to offer, it is the networking, and the friendships, that I treasure most.

~ by cadaleaders on October 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
