There’s Never a Good Time to be Sick

With homecoming only two weeks away, I was both frustrated and defeated as I crawled out of bed at 3:00 AM – not to take care of my four month old daughter – but to check my temperature.  I was running a fever of 100.7, I was sick.  Several thoughts went through my head at this point, many of them revolving around how much I needed to be at work.  There was the meeting with the principal, the t-shirt guy, the float party that night.  However, in the end, I knew I just could not do it all on my own.

One of the hardest parts of being an activities director – as my wife so bluntly points out sometimes – is that I am a do-er.  If something needs to be done, I do it; it’s part of my type A personality.  I’m the the kind of person who takes charge when I see a problem and then works to fix it.  This creates a paradox with my psyche as I want to do stuff in leadership, but in the end, I know my goal is to teach my students how to do these things for themselves.  Now, here I am home sick, and my only hope is that I have taught my students what they need to know in order to succeed.

In the end, all worked out for the best.  The kids found a teacher to supervise the float party, they got done what needed to be done and all went well.  While not ideal, life at school can function without me as I have taught the kids enough to make everything work.  Now, for me, being sick  is a sign that I need to take it easy.  It’s never a bad idea to take a break and relax for a bit.  Thankfully my students stepped up and took on the extra work without complaint or notice, I had done what I needed to do, now it was up to them to make their vision a reality.  In the mean time, I am going to catch up on some much needed sleep.

~ by cadaleaders on September 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
